Pre-Congress Teaching Course Faculty

Prof. Carsten Bönnemann

Carsten Bönnemann

National Institutes of Health, USA
Prof. Carsten Bönnemann graduated from Medical School in Freiburg/Germany. He trained in child neurology, neuromuscular and genetics at MGH and Boston Children’s Hospital. He is on faculty at Children's Hospital of Philadelphia and in 2010 was recruited to the NINDS/NIH as Chief of the Neuromuscular and Neurogenetic Disorders of Childhood Section.
Dr Maxwell Damian

Maxwell Damian

Department of Neurology, Cambridge University Hospitals, UK

Dr. Maxwell Damian is a Consultant Neurologist specialising in Muscle Disease and Neurocritical Care.

Prof. Jordi Diaz-Manera

Jordi Diaz-Manera

Newcastle University, UK

Prof. Jordi Díaz-Manera is an adult neurologist specialized in neuromuscular diseases. He is interested in the application of muscle MRI to the diagnosis and follow-up of patients with muscular disorders.

Reghan Foley

National Institute of Health, USA

Dr. Foley trained with Dr. Carsten Bönnemann at the Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia, USA and Professor Francesco Muntoni at the Dubowitz Neuromuscular Centre, Great Ormond Street Hospital, UK and completed an MD-Research degree at University College London. She presently works with Dr. Bönnemann at the National Institutes of Health, USA.

Dr Kevin Flanigan

Kevin Flanigan

Nationwide Children's Hospital, USA

Dr. Kevin Flanigan is the Director of The Center for Gene Therapy at Nationwide Children’s Hospital in Columbus, Ohio, where he holds the Robert F. & Edgar T. Wolfe Foundation Endowed Chair in Neuromuscular Research, and is the Director of the Nationwide Children’s NIAMS P50-funded Center for Research Translation in Muscular Dystrophy Therapeutic Development.

Carola Hedberg-Oldfors

Carola Hedberg-Oldfors

University of Gothenburg, Dep Pathology and Genetics, Sweden

Carola Hedberg-Oldfors has a PhD in genetics and she is now working as a principal Molecular biologist/Geneticist at the department of Pathology and Genetics, University of Gothenburg and at Clinical Genetics and Genomics at Sahlgrenska University Hospital in Sweden. Her main focus in clinical practise as well as research is genetic analysis and molecular biology in neuromuscular diseases.

Pascal Laforêt

Pascal Laforêt

Raymond Poincaré Hospital, Garches, France

Pascal Laforêt, MD, PhD, is a professor of Neurology specialized in neuromuscular disorders in the Neurology department of Raymond-Poincaré hospital, and coordinator of Nord/Est/Ile de France neuromuscular center. He is a member of the U1179 INSERM laboratory, dedicated to biotherapies of neuromuscular system diseases. Major focus of his research activities are metabolic myopathies, and he coordinates the French registries for mitochondrial disorders, glycogenosis type III, and Pompe disease.

Wolfgang Müller-Felber

Dr. von Hauner Children‘s Hospital, University of Munich (LMU), Germany


Anders Oldfors

Anders Oldfors

University of Gothenburg, Dept. of Pathology and Genetics, Sweden

Professor of Pathology at the Sahlgrenska University Hospital, Gothenburg, Sweden.

WMS commissions: Executive board of WMS 1998-2001 and 2004-present, Local organizer of the 9th WMS congress in Gothenburg 2004, Teacher at the WMS pre-congress course since 2004, Member of the Editorial Board of Neuromuscular Disorders since 1998, Associate Editor of Neuromuscular Disorders since 2006.

Ulrike Schara

Ulrike Schara

University of Essen, Germany

Prof. Dr. Schara-Schmidt is professor for neuropaediatrics and neuromuscular diseases and heads the Department of Neuropaediatrics and the Centre for Neuromuscular Diseases in Children and Adolescents at the Children’s Hospital, University Hospital Essen. She is one of the leading national and international experts in this field, president of the Society for Neuropaediatrics, chair of the local ethics committee and member of numerous national and international committees.

Benedikt Schoser

Benedikt Schoser

Friedrich-Baur-Institut LMU München, Germany

Prof. Dr. Benedikt Schoser is trained neurologists, neurophysiologist, neurointensivist, palliative medicine doctor. He is senior consultant neurologist and co-chair of the Friedrich-Baur-Institute, Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich, Germany. He became fellow of the EAN in 2017 and serves as board member of the Educational panel, Rare disease panel, and Scientific Muscle and Neuromuscular panel of the EAN. Benedikt Schoser’s special focus is translational research.

Pascal Laforêt

Werner Stenzel

Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Department of Neuropathology, Germany

Prof. Dr. Werner Stenzel is a Neuropathologist and Myopathologist and board certified in general Neurology and in Neuropathology. His primary research interest is in juvenile and adult forms of myositis and inflammatory nerve pathologies. The 19th WMS meeting in 2014 was held in Berlin. Prof. Dr. Stenzel is elected programme committee member and executive board member for WMS.

Peter Van den Bergh

Peter Van den Bergh

University Hospital St-Luc, Neuromuscular Reference Centre, Belgium

Professor of Neurology at University of Louvain - Coordinator Neuromuscular Centre University Hospital Saint-Luc, Brussels, Belgium., Organizer of WMS11 – 2006, Bruges, Belgium, Executive Associate Editor Neuromuscular Disorders, Member WMS Program Committee & Executive Board, President Inflammatory Neuropathy Consortium (PNS), Executive Board member Euro-NMD - leader Neurophysiology Group.

John Vissing

John Vissing

Rigshospitalet, Department of Neuropathology, Denmark

Prof. John Vissing is professor of Neurology at the University of Copenhagen, Denmark, and Director of the Copenhagen Neuromuscular Center at the National Hospital. Main research interests are metabolic myopathies, myasthenia gravis, channelopathies, muscle MRI, rehabilitation and defining outcome measures for muscle diseases. He has authored more than 400 scientific papers.

WMS Twitter Feed
WMS Facebook Feed